You must deploy Articles or Functions separately from each other.
Environments
The GenerativeAgent UI offers the following environments to deploy, undeploy, or roll back:- Draft: In this environment, you can try out any article or API connection.
- Sandbox: This environment works as a staging version to test GenerativeAgent’s responses. You can test the behavior of GenerativeAgent and how it performs tasks or calls functions before deploying to a live environment.
- Production: When you deploy to this version, GenerativeAgent will be live in collaborating in the flows and taking over tasks within your Production environments.
GenerativeAgent Versions
As we continue to update GenerativeAgent, we will release new versions of the core system. You can manage which version of GenerativeAgent is deployed for your organization with Pinned Versions. On the Settings page, you can choose which version of GenerativeAgent that you want to test in the Previewer by selecting a specific version from the Version selector. This allows you to test how GenerativeAgent would behave under a new version.- The
Defaultversion will always point to the latest version of GenerativeAgent. - Versions with a
stablebadge have been thoroughly tested and will not change. - Versions with a
betabadge are in development and may change. Eventually they will becomestable.
Your GenerativeAgent will use the
Default version if no other version is pinned.Using the Default version ensures that GenerativeAgent is always using the safest version with the latest features.
Older versions will eventually become deprecated. ASAPP will reach out to you if you are using a deprecated version to communicate timelines and best practices for migration.
Articles
Deploy Articles
To Deploy Content to Sandbox or Production environments:- Click on Deploy, then choose the root and the target environments.
- Write any Release Notes that you deem necessary.
- For Resource, select Knowledge Base.
- You will be prompted with a list of all resources pulled from your file. Choose the content you want to upload to the Knowledge Base Tooling.
- Click on Deploy and the system will save the content in the new version.

Undeploy Articles
You can undeploy Content from Sandbox or Production environments:- Head to the Content Row and click on the ellipsis, then on Undeploy.
- Select the environments that should undeploy the Resource.

View Current Articles and Versions
After clicking on a Resource, you can see all of its details. You can also review each Resource’s detail per version.View Deployment History
Deployment History shows a detailed account of all deployments across environments for each article.
- Toggle between Production and Sandbox to access environment specific deployments.
- Filter deployment records by time frames.
- Manage Deployment and rollback to previous versions.
Each deployment entry shows date, time, type, and a brief description of deployment.
API Connections
When you create an API Connection, it will automatically be available for GenerativeAgent. You can test resources that use APIs like Functions into the same environments before going live.Trial Mode
ASAPP safely deploys new API use cases to production via Trial Mode. You configure Trial Mode in a way that if there are multiple APIs configured for a task or a function, GenerativeAgent is only allowed to call the first API. After GenerativeAgent calls an API, it will immediately escalate to an agent. This way to observe GenerativeAgent’s behavior after the API call. Once you and your ASAPP Team are confident that GenerativeAgent is correctly using API Connections, you give GenerativeAgent full access to use the Connection. After that, you start Functional Testing on the next API Connection.Rollbacks
Rollback involves reverting a deployed resource to a previous version or state. Rollbacks restore the previous version of the resource, undoing any changes introduced by the most recent update. Version pointers for each resource indicate the new_version_number from the chosen deployment for rollback.Undeployment
Undeployment is restricted to individual resources (a task, a function, or an article). It is possible to remove resources from specific environments without deploying any version of them. Undeploying a resource does not change the state of the draft, and the system still considers the latest modification of the draft as the latest version. Undeploying also generates a new line item within the deployment history. If a resource is critical for the functioning of other resources or services, undeployment is blocked to prevent system failures or disruptions.Edit History
Each resource has a history of all modifications. You can use Edit History to restore a resource to a past version. For tasks, bricks, handoffs, functions, and the Agent Identity section, you can pin any two versions in Edit History to compare them side by side. When you compare two versions, the interface highlights what changed:- Items added appear highlighted in green.
- Items removed appear highlighted in red.
- A diff badge appears on any resource that is condensed in the UI, indicating a change within that element.